Who Moved My iPhone

Just another WordPress.com site

Pinterest Gains Interest from Marketers

on June 4, 2012
Image

Photo from BusinessZone.co.uk

When it comes to social media tools, I consider myself to be somewhat of an early adopter. I’ve been on Facebook and Twitter since their early days. However, I never really felt much like and early adopter until Pinterest came along. For those who aren’t aware, Pinterest is a virtual bulletin board that allows users to bookmark, organize, and share photos of things that interest you. It is one of the fastest growing social networking sites on the web and its popularity has been going gangbusters for the last several months.

I’m a big reader of DIY, home décor, and food blogs and saw a lot of the bloggers I regularly read talking about Pinterest. I wasn’t exactly sure what it was or how it worked at first. To be honest, I thought it was a tool that was specifically for bloggers. That is until I received my Pinterest invitation from a friend a year ago. I’m a list maker and organizer, so I was instantly obsessed with being able to pin ideas for recipes, outfits, room designs, quotes, and everything else I love. I literally spent hours pinning.

While I’ve been pinning photos of hairstyles, clothes, and home décor for over a year, within the last six months the interest in Pinterest (get it?) has just exploded. In fact, Compete.com reported that unique visitors to Pinterest increased by 329 percent between September and December 2011. Now brands are joining the popular social networking site to leverage its skyrocketing popularity and ability to drive traffic and awareness of their products. So how can your brand create a successful business presence on Pinterest? Here are a few tips from Social Media Examiner:

  1. How will your brand use Pinterest? Pinterest may not be a good fit for all brands. If your brand develops unique products or has beautiful imagery, it’s likely a good fit.
  2. Let your customers know you’re on Pinterest. Add a Pinterest button to your webpage and encourage your customers to follow your boards and pin your products.
  3. Follow proper Pinterest etiquette. Pinterest etiquette encourages users to avoid self-promotion, and be sure to credit sources. Pinterest is different from other social networking sites, so marketers need to take note.
  4. Learn from others. Mashable shares a list of terrific examples from brands like West Elm, Whole Foods, and ModCloth that have successfully used Pinterest to grow their brands and engage with customers.
  5. Encourage engagement. Use your pins and boards as an opportunity to start conversations with your customers and build relationships.

If your organization is interested in using Pinterest to engage with customers and promote your business, check out this recent post from Social Media Examiner, which shares a long list of tips and case studies from emerging media experts.


One response to “Pinterest Gains Interest from Marketers

  1. Kirsty Wertz says:

    Oh my gosh. I love Pinterest. When I first started using it, I couldn’t get my head around it’s purpose. But then as I started to see some of the amazing ideas my friends were finding on Pinterest, it quickly became addictive! What a great tool for brands that are able to share visual assets as a way to create word-of-mouth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

